Coverart for item
The Resource A lady's guide to selling out, Sally Franson

A lady's guide to selling out, Sally Franson

Label
A lady's guide to selling out
Title
A lady's guide to selling out
Statement of responsibility
Sally Franson
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A brilliant young woman navigates a tricky twenty-first-century career-and the trickier question of who she wants to be-in this savagely wise debut novel for fans of Younger, The Bold Type, and The Devil Wears Prada. Casey Pendergast is losing her way. Once a book-loving English major, Casey lands a job at a top ad agency that highly values her ability to tell a good story. Her best friend thinks she's a sellout, but Casey tells herself that she's just paying the bills-and she can't help that she has champagne taste. When her hard-to-please boss assigns her to a top-secret campaign that pairs literary authors with corporations hungry for upmarket cachet, Casey is both excited and skeptical. But as she crisscrosses America, wooing her former idols, she's shocked at how quickly they compromise their integrity: A short-story writer leaves academia to craft campaigns for a plus-size clothing chain, a reclusive nature writer signs away her life's work to a manufacturer of granola bars. When she falls in love with one of her authors, Casey can no longer ignore her own nagging doubts about the human cost of her success. By the time the year's biggest book festival rolls around in Las Vegas, it will take every ounce of Casey's moxie to undo the damage-and, hopefully, save her own soul. Told in an unforgettable voice, with razor-sharp observations about everything from feminism to pop culture to social media, A Lady's Guide to Selling Out is the story of a young woman untangling the contradictions of our era and trying to escape the rat race-by any means necessary. Advance praise for A Lady's Guide to Selling Out "Bitingly funny ... 'Sally] Franson's snappy debut nimbly skewers the high-flying world of advertising and romance in the age of social media ... ' Franson's irresistibly flawed heroine holds her own as she strives to find honesty, meaning, and even love in a demanding world, resulting in an addictive, escapist novel."--Publishers Weekly "A high-spirited heroine loses herself in a vortex of modern striving in this debut novel ... ' Come for the hilarious narration, stay for the whirlwind plot, luxuriate in the satirical gleam."-Kirkus Reviews "Truly beautifully observed, A Lady's Guide to Selling Out is a gorgeous treat. Sally Franson's voice is addictive: whip-smart, biting, and clever. I kept pausing to reread parts of it with a huge smile on my face."-Jane Green, author of Summer Secrets
Cataloging source
RECBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Franson, Sally
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3606.R42258
Literary form
novels
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • FICTION
  • Self-actualization (Psychology) in women
  • Self-realization in women
Label
A lady's guide to selling out, Sally Franson
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780399592058
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Publisher number
EB00707015
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
3F44EBE7-0D35-4907-8EC1-E6F07B0570CD
System control number
  • on1031417523
  • (OCoLC)1031417523
Label
A lady's guide to selling out, Sally Franson
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9780399592058
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Publisher number
EB00707015
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
3F44EBE7-0D35-4907-8EC1-E6F07B0570CD
System control number
  • on1031417523
  • (OCoLC)1031417523

Library Locations

Processing Feedback ...