Coverart for item
The Resource A small indiscretion : a novel, Jan Ellison

A small indiscretion : a novel, Jan Ellison

Label
A small indiscretion : a novel
Title
A small indiscretion
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Jan Ellison
Creator
Contributor
Author
Narrator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For readers of Amy Bloom, Meg Wolitzer, and Lorrie Moore, A Small Indiscretion is a gripping and ultimately redemptive novel of love and its dangers, marriage and its secrets, youth and its treacherous mistakes. A Small Indiscretion fixes an unflinching eye on the power of desire and the danger of obsession as it unfolds the story of one woman's reckoning with a youthful mistake. As a young woman, Annie Black trades a bleak future in a washed-out suburb of Los Angeles for a London winter of drinking to oblivion, yearning for deliverance, and looking for love in all the wrong places. Some two decades later, she is married to a good man and settled in San Francisco, with a son and two daughters and a successful career designing artistic interior lights. One June morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, igniting an old longing and setting off a chain of events that rocks the foundations of her marriage and threatens to overturn her family's hard-won happiness. The novel moves back and forth across time between San Francisco in the present and that distant winter in Europe. The two worlds converge and explode when the adult Annie returns to London seeking answers, her indiscretions come to light, and the phone rings with shocking news about her son. Now Annie must fight to save her family by piecing together the mystery of her past--the fateful collision of liberation and abandon and sexual desire that drew an invisible map of her future. A Small Indiscretion is a riveting debut novel about a woman's search for understanding and forgiveness, a taut exploration of a modern marriage, and of love--the kind that destroys, and the kind that redeems
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ellison, Jan
Dewey number
813/.6
Form of composition
not applicable
Format of music
not applicable
LC call number
PS3605.L47534
LC item number
S63 2015ab
Literary text for sound recordings
fiction
Music parts
not applicable
PerformerNote
Read by Kathe Mazur
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Mazur, Kathe
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Mothers and sons
  • Traffic accidents
  • Coma
  • Man-woman relationships
Transposition and arrangement
not applicable
Label
A small indiscretion : a novel, Jan Ellison
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 09 min., 34 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780553399783
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
1B825AC3-C090-49ED-9285-2DB32E6E83DC
System control number
  • ocn898180644
  • (OCoLC)898180644
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
A small indiscretion : a novel, Jan Ellison
Link
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Capture and storage technique
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
not applicable
Configuration of playback channels
unknown
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
  • not applicable
  • unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 09 min., 34 sec.))
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9780553399783
Kind of cutting
not applicable
Kind of disc cylinder or tape
not applicable
Kind of material
unknown
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
digital.
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • other
  • remote
Speed
other
Stock number
1B825AC3-C090-49ED-9285-2DB32E6E83DC
System control number
  • ocn898180644
  • (OCoLC)898180644
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

Processing Feedback ...